The Grand Slam

On 7 September 2019 Wood Badge holder from Gauteng joined together at Gilwell in Florida to celebrate 100 years of the Wood Badge. In attendance were five Scouters who have achieved the “Grand Slam” of Scouting, that is the highest award for each level of Scouting during their career, a phenomenal achievement. This means the recipient of the Grand Slam name must have completed their Leaping Wolf, Springbok Award, Baden-Powell Award and received a Wood Badge. As far as we know these are the only five in South Africa who have ever reached this achievement. The Grand Slammers include Craig van der Bank, Tanya Evans, Jearoid Harris, Darren van Gool and JP Percival. This achievement has taken years of dedicated to the Movement and lots of hard work. Congratulations on joining such an exclusive club.